Giving Twitter a chance

15 04 2013

As earlier posting I have been inspired to give Twitter another chance. First thing was to unfollw some very prolific tweeters to lighten the load. Also added some authoritive HE sources (digital visitor?) Although I aspire to having an annual archiving session from my twitter shoebox but am not sure that is going to happen.  I am seeing a benefit in it as a source of news.  I just need to develop the habit of checking the twitter feed though!  Have also learnt that Twitter has an automatic URL shorttener so I can cross learning how to do that off my list. Thanks Twitter: All links (URLs) posted in Tweets are shortened using our t.co service.

Actions

Information

8 responses

16 04 2013
Sue Barnes

Hi Jo
I am a fellow ‘Give Twitter another chance’ tweeter and having done as you have done in rationalising who I follow I am finding my new twitter experience much more rewarding.

16 04 2013
Jo Conlon

Hi Sue,
Thanks – and thanks for the reminder to do my daily check! Found a great thing on #moocs yesterday ow.ly/k3ssg which made a strong case for the flipped classroom. I am finding re-tweeting useful bits means I then know where they are. Trying to be selctive – think that is a lesson all round.

17 04 2013
Clare Denholm

Hiya

As a hot/cold twitter user my couple of top tips to make it a positive experience are:
1. Don’t try to read everything – think of it like walking into a room and picking up on a conversation. Trying to backtrack and read all you have missed will just give you a headache (took me a while to realise that!)
2. Use a client and put things into lists. Twitter is huge, one following adds to another and before you know it your home feed is chaos. I use Hootsuite (there are several other popular clients) where you can have different columns for different interests of groups. So much easier!

I have however always found twitter a real boost for online courses and the feel of community so I hope you find it useful in this context at least 🙂

Clare

18 04 2013
Jo Conlon

Hi Clare
So far my new regime has brought one positive thing a day so I am sticking with it, certainly for the course. Thanks for the tip about clients – I like columns!! Also after doing some of the work for this week I am beginning to see the importance of real engagement with the community. I haven’t been checking #OcTEL so will do now and remember your tip on no back-tracking. I am reading up on emergent learning and without a community then the knowledge can’t be constructed i.e. emerge. Well that’s my understanding so far…Thanks!
Jo

18 04 2013
Sue Barnes

Hi Jo
I agree with ‘the importance of real engagement with the community’. When planning an online course like MOOCs you could easily advise participants to spend an hour a day reading and commenting on other’s contributions in blogs, on Twitter etc. That puts the estimated 5 hour’s per week for ocTEL into perspective but so far engaging with community is the thing I have gained the most from.
Sue

18 04 2013
Sue Barnes

Hi Clare
Thanks for your comments. I will give Hoot suite a go. I like the idea that even though I haven’t read all the tweets I can organise then for future reference.
Sue

17 04 2013
Sue Barnes

Hi Jo
An interesting article particularly ‘We think these top institutions are missing a chance to use the Web to reinvigorate stagnated teaching methods’ and ‘Web-based learning can do more than open up space for more classroom interaction by putting lectures online. It can also allow law schools to teach a new set of skills in a different way.’

27 04 2013
Jo Conlon

Hello fellow re-adventurers in Twitter. Just wondered if you had chance to try out Hoot suite yet and what you thought? A colleague also recommended Twitter deck. This appeals to me as I think I would be more likely to do the management of my twitter streams at a desk top. Any thoughts / comments…

Leave a Reply

